At the End of the Day; Clothe Yourself with Gentleness

clothe-yourself-with-gentleness-pt-4-a

It’s a long hard road
With a good, good end
And if I keep on walking on past the crooked bend
I will meet my Maker
I will meet my Friend
It’s a long hard road
With a good, good end

-Waterdeep

It’s late Sunday night, wrapped in my mom’s leopard print snuggie my Grandma bought for her- the blankets with the arm sleeves.

I’m also wearing Jeff’s old Oklahoma cheer shirt. Did you know my husband, a high school quarterback, state champ x4, also cheered in college? He doesn’t love sharing this bit of information with others, but I love that about Jeff – he surprises me.

He tore his ACL Senior year in the playoffs, which altered the course of his college football-playing opportunities. So he opted for cheering in college instead. He could be on the field at all the games, and it helped him stay in shape too. Still, I can’t believe he learned to do a flip!

Anyway, his old cheer shirt is a staple pajama top of mine.

I’m wearing some polka-dot pajama pants too.

Clothe yourself in gentleness, right?

especially after a long day.

Today I hauled leftover drywall down the stairs, out the door, along the sidewalk, and to the dumpster. I planted my feet, swung my arms, and hoisted the pieces over the edge.

Then repeated over and over.

Scratchy fiberglass against my hands, inhaling chalky dust,  hoping not to trip over power cords going down the stairs.

When that was done I swept all the rooms getting covered with a layer of dust. Opening the windows helped some, but not much. After a trip to Home Depot and Lowes, we unloaded 32 more sheets of drywall from the trailer, and finally finished up for the day.

We made it back in time for me to quickly shower before I met my close friends for coffee.

At some point the store closed, so we headed out.

Tired but thankful, I finally came home to rest;

a bath,

pajamas,

an old t-shirt,

a snuggie

and time for unwinding

at the end of a long day. 


When you put on your pajamas to get some rest, during these December nights may you know and remember God’s gentleness- a gentleness that allows us to be honest with our struggles and hardships, that leads us to a hopeful vision, that gives us reason to persevere.


This is the fourth installment in my mini-series Clothe Yourself with Gentleness. It is inspired by Colossians 3:12 as well as advice given to me by an author/writer friend who mentioned I should start paying attention to ways God shows me gentleness.

  1. a Broken Jacket + a Soft Song
  2. Yoga Pants + Gentle Yoga
  3. a Swaddle Blanket, A Baby, & Advent
Leave a Reply

