Looking Back on Fall

img_6561

Welcome to this seasonal reflection. I am taking time to note small, big, serious or silly things I have learned.

This helps me me slow down and pay attention. In looking through the photos, in glancing back over my blog or journal, and in remembering the days-I also notice God’s presence in my life.

Thank you to author, Emily Freeman, for sharing the idea of this discipline. I will be linking up with Emily. I welcome you to join with us.

Here are 7 things I learned this Fall;

1. Hello Nieces!

All Summer I tried hard not to pester both my brothers and my sisters-in-law,  resisting the urge to ask if they thought they were having a boy or a girl, or if they were really going to wait until the end to find out. I can’t say I did that well, but I am amazed by their patience. Wow!!!

In September, both babies were born a week or two apart. And in the most exciting part of this Fall, I learned I have two new nieces!

Gouldie and Zealynn, I love you!!!

Counting the days until they’re in town for Christmas.

Why God Made Little Girls

Author Unknown

God made the world with towering trees,
Majestic mountains and restless seas.
Then paused and said , “It needs one more thing…
Someone to laugh and dance and sing.
To walk in the wood and gather flowers…
To commune with nature in quiet hours.”

So God made little girls
With laughing eyes and bouncing curls,
With joyful hearts and infectious smiles,
Enchanting ways and feminine wiles.
And when He’d completed the task He’d begun.
He was pleased and proud of the job He’d done.
For the world, when seen through little girl’s eyes
Greatly resembled Paradise.

2. Starbucks gets the nitty-gritty house remodeling jobs done.

Buying a big Starbucks drink on the way to work on house projects was the best motivation tool! And it must have at least doubled my productivity level.

img_6262

3. Surprisingly Sweet Voting Memories

Jeff and I went together again to the polls, but in a new location since our address has changed. Also, this time in Jeff’s arms was a cute smiling three year old name Oliver Hirshburg.  We were welcomed with cookies and coffee at a local church, with kind helpers all around. We did not have a wait, so that was nice.

4. The Order of Things

The demolition part of our remodel was exciting. But, then came the reframing, the electrical work,the  insulation, the cleaning, and the sanding. I kept asking Jeff when flooring could be put it in, when walls could be painted, when countertops could be installed. The answer was always “after this,this and this”. Basically, at the very the end!

More often than not the boring, important, basic stuff must come first. Persevere! persevere!

5. Yes to Trick-or-Treating.

We went to the Halloween festival at the zoo. It was extremely crowded. There weren’t many animals to be seen since it was at night. Oliver had fun, but we will skip it next year. This made me appreciate the simplicity of going door to door around the neighborhood.

6. Modern Calligraphy

After learning how to do lettering and calligraphy this Fall, I now know that I like using the nib and ink the best- as opposed to the brush markers. It is more tricky, but I like how the ink flows onto the paper. Also, I like the look of using the nib with watercolor.

7. Mini-trampoline.

My parents have a mini-trampoline. Whether it is in the living room or  upstairs in their game room, whenever Oliver has extra energy he loves hopping on it! I love it especially on rainy days. I think we need one when we move!

img_4429

4 thoughts on “Looking Back on Fall

    1. Yes, I think my mom bought it because jumping on it helps with the lymph system? She deals with lymphatic leukemia. I don’t know how it works or if it is true-but it is great exercise too and an outlet for Oliver’s energy!

      Like

  1. Oh my word! The poem!!! My niece (who is in her late 20’s now) had that poem hanging over her changing table when she was a baby, and my sister would read it to her every time she changed her. And because I knew that was the routine, I did it too. I remembered every word, all these years later! 🙂 Thanks for that great memory!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the poem framed in my room as a little girl too! I still remember it, and so I looked it up online to find for this post. I think it may have been a gift someone gave to my mom at her baby shower, but I am not sure. Thank you for sharing that story with me. I love it!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

