a Swaddle Blanket, a Baby & Advent; Clothe Yourself with Gentleness

“and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger,”  Luke 2:7

 

clothe-yourself-with-gentleness-pt-3and so Advent begins.


The cold front moved in

today.

This morning Oliver asks “Where’s the sun?”

“Hiding behind the clouds. It’s a cloudy day.” I say.

He tells me he misses his cousin.

His Uncle Rob, Aunt Ashley, and cousins- Finn, Coco Mae, and baby Gouldie,  just said their Thanksgiving goodbyes. They’re headed on the road back home, until Christmas when they return.

Oliver curls up on my lap. Head lying  on the white fur pillow. Blue blanket covers cold feet. I comb strands of soft brown hair out of his eyes.

We are tired. We are content. We are excited.

Tired from holiday hustle

Content in the moment of rest.

Excited for Christmas coming.

From the couch I notice the ceramic nativity scene made by my Grandma and put out by my Mom.

The decorations appear-little surprises, subtle changes here and there in every room.

I welcome this season of Advent.

I welcome the moment of rest.

I welcome the hope and the waiting.

and I remember this image described to the shepherds by the angels in the sky.

“This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.” Luke 2:12

img_6479

2 thoughts on “a Swaddle Blanket, a Baby & Advent; Clothe Yourself with Gentleness

Leave a Reply

