To the Rescue

img_4228

Scattered on the floor to the left of my computer are Oliver’s Paw Patrol toys.

In front of me on the coffee table I can see his Paw Patrol water bottle.

If you go to our bathroom you will find the Paw Patrol step stool.

And outside on the back patio next to his bike rests a Paw Patrol helmet.

If you haven’t heard of Paw Patrol, it’s simply a kids show about rescue dogs, and it’s one of Oliver’s favorite things right now.

As Oliver plays out scenarios with his Paw Patrol Pups including volcanoes, storms, and monsters I often hear him belt out the phrase “to the rescue!”. I smile and giggle.

This past week, as I was following the Sacred Ordinary Days Bible reading plan and trying to tune out the background noise; most likely Oliver singing the Paw Patrol theme song, I read Jonah’s prayer and Psalms 18; both prayers about rescue.

img_3771

The engulfing waters threatened me,
the deep surrounded me;
seaweed was wrapped around my head.
To the roots of the mountains I sank down;
the earth beneath barred me in forever.
But you, Lord my God,
brought my life up from the pit.
When my life was ebbing away,
I remembered you, Lord,
and my prayer rose to you,
to your holy temple.

Jonah 2:5-7

He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
he drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
from my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
but the Lord was my support.
He brought me out into a spacious place;
he rescued me because he delighted in me.

Psalms 18:16-19

I love those scriptures.

I have found one way God rescues me and strengthens me is through gentleness. Which is the heart behind my blog and what I hope to offer my readers; a gentle place to gather strength.

When this strengthening happens, I don’t hear a loud voice shouting “to the rescue” and usually I am not in an extreme circumstance. But I still know in my heart that a rescue is taking place. God is guiding me and sustaining me.

He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
he drew me out of deep waters. Psalms 18:16

Everyday is another day I pray,

then I wait and watch

for His rescue;

An extended hand, or a little nudge.

A dose of healing;

maybe as small as

a drop of oil,

a text from my husband,

a hug from Oliver,

a short simple scripture; Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. Romans 8:1

And I feel the love pulling me up out of the pit, or if I am in a spacious place I feel the love continuing to sustain me.

Sometimes it is subtle and sometimes it is spectacular; but it is a constant prayer in my heart.

A need I know I have;

“Every hour I need thee.”

In a self-sufficient, be independent culture, my heart has found gentleness in God’s word. I read it and I feel understood. The scripture affirms what I know and what others don’t seem to always acknowledge; that we need constant help and hope. We need God’s grace and saving power even in the ordinary moments of life.

img_4067

2 thoughts on “To the Rescue

Leave a Reply

