Looking Back on May

imageAfter a day full of family and friends, my favorite place to return to is my journal. An empty page is waiting.

After a project is complete, my favorite thing is to clear my desk of clutter.

When a month ends, my favorite discipline is looking back before moving ahead. Clearing the cobwebs in my mind to see what I have learned and what joys I have found.

And after looking back, my favorite thing is to begin again.

Thank you Emily P Freeman for introducing me to this soul anchoring practice.

5 THINGS I LEARNED IN MAY

1. A May Epiphany

My expectations of May are like that of Spring, expecting it to be cheerful and fun. Yet year after year I come to this month and I’m caught off guard with the different mix of emotions it brings.

Now that I have thought more about it; it all makes sense. May is a month of finishing up, and these endings can bring about so many emotions. It’s also a month of transitions; shifting into summer mode.  Plus, May is normally jam packed with events and celebrations. As an introvert, this can cause a sense of dread, but from experience I know the time with friends and family ends up being life-giving.

With this new awareness, I’m motivated to make a little list of ideas to help during this transition time of the year. It will kind of be like a post I wrote;  What Helps in the Winter inspired by Anne Bogel at modernmrsdarcy.com.

2. Photo Design Apps

I played around with different tools for adding text and titles to images. The 2 that I recommend for now are the Typic App for my iPhone, and Canva.com for when I am at my desk top.

3. Great Barrier Reef + Northern Lights

This month I had fun learning all about the Great Barrier Reef and the Northern Lights, while writing a mini-series on the 7 natural wonders of the world. Click on the links above to see my posts.

4. Definition of quotidian

– of or occurring everyday, daily

-ordinary or everyday, especially when mundane

The Quotidian Mysteries; Laundry, Liturgy, and “Women’s Work by Kathleen Norris is a book I read this month. It introduced me to the word ‘quotidian’. Strolling thoughtfully through Kathleen words I collected little gems of beauty and truth.

image

“Whenever I am checking bags at an airport, I recall St. Teresa of Avila’s wonderful prayer of praise, ‘”Thank God for the things that I do not own.'”

Things are truly baggage, our impedimenta, which must be maintained with work that is menial, steady, and recurring. But, like liturgy, the work of cleaning draws much of its meaning and value from repetition, from the fact that it is never completed, but only set aside until the next day.

Both liturgy and what is euphemistically termed “domestic” work also have an intense relation with the present moment, a kind of faith in the present that fosters hope and makes life seem possible in the day-to-day.”

-Kathleen Norris, The Quotidian Mysteries

After packing up and moving unexpectedly twice in the last 7 months, St. Teresa of Avil’s prayer of thanks for “the things we do not own” completely resonated with me. Owning less stuff meant one less box to pack and to unpack! Yes and Amen!

5. resetting routines with intention

Oh, how easy my daily/weekly/quotidian routines get lost when any type of change occurs. Though I think offering grace during times of transition is wise, what I learned is  *sooner than later*  I need to be intentional about resetting routines.

This lesson came about from our current situation. We are living at my parents home until renovation is complete on the old home we just bought.

5 JOYS FOUND IN MAY

1. new journal + new pens

2. pastel peonies

3. laughter from the old + young

My Grandma came in town to visit. Oliver and my Grandma really hit it off. They had us laughing all week. He kept calling her banana instead of Nana. “Where’s banana?”  “Will you play with me banana.” !

4. blue eyes + blue skies

5. new projects on the horizon + new vision

Hello Pinterest. I had fun pinning ideas for our new home onto my Pinterest boards.

WORD OF THE MONTH

LISTEN

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Back on May

Leave a Reply

