An Invitation to Wonder

image

“God moves through nature-and souls-like a whisper on water and he cannot be held back. ” Emily P Freeman, A Million Little Ways

The purpose of this blog is to create a garden of sorts for your soul, and a gentle place to gather strength.

A garden you can come to explore or to simply sit and be.

See, there goes a pale yellow butterfly.

A bluejay in a blue sky.

Maybe this garden overlooks a pond surrounded by willows

or maybe it is a plot of dirt for growing tomatoes

let it be what you please

and I will try to plant seeds of possibility, mystery, and creativity for you to enjoy.

“Life shoots up straight out of death and no one can make it stop.” Emily P Freeman, A Million Little Ways

In one corner you might find an overgrowth of vines,

and just beyond the bend

there is an oak tree that will be your friend.

On days when your heart is just a sigh

you can find this garden way up high

and watch the glory of the changing clouds

image

Just know

when you come to this garden,

I pray gentle love will flood your soul, like Jesus holding your hand.

His love is deep and wide, but gentle enough to come inside our hearts

if we invite him.

“An artist lives in the midst of this wonder, breathes it in, moves around in it, uncovers her unique contribution to it, and offers it back up to God.” Emily P Freeman, A Million Little Ways


I just finished my first mini-series called Golden, which was all about gentleness.

I wrote about the openness/honesty and the freedom of choice that gentleness allows.

This gentleness helps to grow joy and wonder.

But where there is harshness and control, wonder is often diminished, things become black and white instead of lavender, blue, emerald green, creams, peaches, reds, apricot, navy, or gold!

God’s gentleness nugdes me to be brave, by creating and exploring wonder. With this in mind my next mini-series is called An Invitation to Wonder. I will be writing about the 7 natural wonders of the world. Or I will be attempting to do this! I am excited to see where it leads.

And for the sake of fun and curiosity, if you could pick one Natural Wonder to identify with, which one would it be? I pick Victoria Falls, though I do love the Northern Lights!

Here is a list of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World

  1. Great Barrier Reef in Australia
  2. Northern Lights
  3. Victoria Falls in Zambia/Zimbabwe
  4. Grand Canyon in Arizona, USA
  5. Mount Everest in Nepal
  6. Harbor of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  7. Paricutin volcano in Mexico

Cheers to wonder near and far. A photo from Niagara Falls and a photo from a sunset in my backyard.

8 thoughts on “An Invitation to Wonder

  1. I am so excited about this series! I feel and hear the rumblings like I am approaching the waterfall and I want to start running towards it now! Can’t wait to see what is in store for me there. Love from your canyon friend. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You write so beautifully! I feel myself slowing down my breathing as I read your words. Excited for this series! Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

