A Gentle Guide

image

This is the last post in my mini-series on gentleness, Golden. Today I will share ways we can guide others without being too controlling or too intimidating.

Psalms 18:33-35 is a favorite scripture passage of mine, and it is also the inspiration behind today’s post.

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;

he enables me to stand on the heights.

He trains my hands for battle;

my arm can bend a bow of bronze.

You give me your shield of victory,

and you stoop down to make me great.

Psalms 18:33-35

Verse 35 is translated in two different ways, which I find interesting and useful for this post.

  1. Your gentleness has made me great.
  2. Your humility has made me great.

God is my most gentle and wise counselor. He has “stooped down to make me great”. My prayer is that we might also be this way with others. Here are 4 small tips that may help us to be fierce effective leaders, while guiding with a gentle love.

4 ways to be a gentle guide:

  1. Speak truth in love; taking into consideration the timing and the tone of your message.
  2. Be humble and offer some openness. In the book Love Kindness which I have referenced a lot throughout this series the author shares a little bit about offering humility;

    “Living a life of radical kindness, a life that others are watching, means owning up to the fact that our lives are messy and uncertain, our roads are crooked. We don’t have it all together. The kind life acknowledges that we have little true certainty, a claim that seems so countercultural.” Barry H. Corey, Love Kindness

  3. Lead with lightness and patience: teach little bits at a time. Learning and growing is often a gradual process. Show how to celebrate small victories along the journey and how to embrace one’s current phase.
  4. Allow for some space, so one doesn’t fill boxed in or completely controlled. There is an art to this I am sure, especially as a parent. But I think it is important to remember how God leads us then lets us choose on our own if we will follow. He also gives us space.

I hope maybe these 4 suggestions will help or affirm how you guide the people God has placed in your life.

Having mentors in own life has been a golden gift. I am so thankful for people God has brought along my path with more experience than me. Their willingness to take time to guide me and to encourage me has been a true act of gentleness.

Here are links to the others blog posts about gentleness. Thank you for joining with me during this series.

Golden

A Little Lightness for your Soul

A Prayer & Prayer for the Month of April

A Gentle Presence: 3 Golden Rules

Fool’s Gold: When Wisdom is Left Out

Beautiful Golden Threads

A Gentle Guide

2 thoughts on “A Gentle Guide

Leave a Reply

