Tuesday Inspiration: Follow the Robin

Just a little imagination for your Tuesday.

Imagine you are doing dishes at the kitchen sink. Out the window you see a robin sitting on the bird bath. You think about the color of the robin’s eggs, and wonder if there is a nest nearby.

image
I took this picture from out my kitchen window last week, while scrubbing dishes.

Then your mind takes you back to a scene from The Chronicles of Narnia, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe:

“They were all still wondering what to do next when Lucy said, ‘Look! there’s a robin, with such a red breast. It’s the first bird I’ve seen here. I say!- I wonder can birds talk in Narnia?”

And when the children didn’t no where to go next they decided to follow the robin.

Edmund questions them saying “We are following a guide we know nothing about. How do we know what side that bird is on? Why shouldn’t it be leading us into a trap.?

Lucy says “They’re good birds in all the stories I’ve ever read. I’m sure a robin wouldn’t be on the wrong side.”

And Lucy was right.

image


 

Sometimes I feel God’s spirit leading me like the robin hopping from branch to branch, and at each branch is another book for that time or season in my life. Last week it was the book Love Kindness by Barry H Corey. This week I was lead to this perfect read for the Easter season and for the first week of Spring The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis.

Along with that book I also read a blog post by Emily P Freeman about imagination yesterday. I wanted to share it here too.

In A Praise of Holy Imagination

“As we continue to learn what it means to meet Him in the produce aisle at the grocery store, in that quiet conversation with a friend, in that frustrating moment with grumpy children, or from behind piles of paperwork on our office desk, may we also learn what it means to meet Him in our imagination.”

-Emily P. Freeman-

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Inspiration: Follow the Robin

  1. Love this, Lis! I so enjoy reading the way you write, and I’m always so encouraged to view life through the lense you share. Wish we lived close enough to get lunch or walk outside with our little guys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lindsey, I can’t say thank you enough for your encouraging words! Hug! Also, I love reading your writing too; notes from you in high school were the best!!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

