Greenhouse

image

What’s growing in your greenhouse,

the garden of your soul?

Are you feeding it books in corner nooks?

Are you letting love in your cozy den?

Have you set aside room in the course of your day,

for time alone with God to pray?

This week I was encouraged that my time alone with God is not in vain; the listening, the journaling, the studying, the worshipping or the praying. I needed that encouragement, in a world that seems to measure success with what growth can be seen. Maybe you need to hear this truth repeated also?

Time alone with God may mean “that we do less outward visible work, but the work we do will have more depth and power.” This quote comes from the devotion Streams in the Desert by LB Cowman. My Grandma gave me this devotional when I was going through a hard time, dealing with chronic pain for about 6 years. This devotional gave me comfort and still does today. Cowman lists several miracles and moments of breakthrough or revelation in the Bible that happened during time alone with God. It’s the  “February 27th” devotional if you want to read it.

Also, the artwork above was done by our neighbor Matt Chinworth, who lives at the end of our cul-de-sac and teaches High School Art. He is my husband’s favorite golfing partner, and his wife is one of my closest friends. Thank you Matt for the inspiring art! You can see more of his art work on his website chinworthillustration.com

image

I’m linking up with Holley Gerth  at Coffee for Your Heart. Join me if you have an encouraging blog post you would like to share too!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Greenhouse

  1. Your site is so visually beautiful. Streams in the desert…God is showing me just how dehydrated I am right now. It’s time to slow down and receive a bit of care. Great post today. Hope your week is wonderful:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Melissa! First of all, your online space is beautiful. Second, I love this post. It affirms so much of what I’ve experienced lately in my own time with the Lord. Third, I love the reflection from “Streams in the Desert,” the reminder that God works mightily when we individually meet with Him. I’m so excited to be on “the bench” with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

