Tuesday Inspirations

Every Tuesday

“Freely you have received; freely give.” Matthew 10:8

Sharing inspiration with you each Tuesday.

little things mean a lot

Little Things Mean A Lot

I drove behind this van twice in the past week. I was thankful for the reminder, and maybe you need it too. Clean socks put away, a phone call returned, a smile, a hug, a counter top wiped down, small beginnings, one step in the right direction; these “Little things mean a lot”. Thank you to this Florist company that put this quote on their van and goes around to bring flowers to people!

Beautiful Christmas Music

finally Christmas

Cheers to Symon and Princess Hajjar and their friends that created a beautiful Christmas album of old and new Christmas songs. I’m listening to this comforting beautiful album right now. I will probably be listening to it everyday up until it is Finally Christmas.

Thank you Symon for sharing your music.

An Artist Date

An artist date is a fun thing to do once a week. I read about it in the book The Artist Way. You do something by yourself that you enjoy.  I thought I could easily carve out time to do this, but then two weeks passed and I had not done it yet! So, I finally did it this past week!

I went to a little library tucked away in the back of the park, with willow trees, fir trees, geese, and a pond. The willow trees looked like golden ribbons dancing in the wind! The library even has a whimsical mother goose sculpture and rabbit sculpture in a tiny garden behind it. I jogged/walked the park trail while listening to music.  Then I went inside to check out books.image

Artwork in children’s books inspires me, and I also wanted to find more books Oliver would like. Here are two books I found:

I loved the artwork in Cowboy Bunnies, but Oliver’s favorite book by far was Otis and the Puppy. For some reason Oliver keeps calling him “Motis”. Otis is a tractor. Oliver gets to pick one new Christmas ornament to buy and put on our tree each year. This year he chose a tractor ornament. Then we found this fun tractor book at the library!

Herman and Kate Kaiser LibraryHere are a few pics of the whimsical garden area in the back of the library that I love. These photos are from last spring. It’s a fun place to take your kids and maybe read books outside by the pond, if you live in Tulsa?

Thankful for the artist that made these sculptures, the landscaper that designed the garden, the librarian that helped me check out books, and the person who planted the willow trees next to the pond.

Piano Inspiration

Here is a link to a blog post that reminded me a little of my mom and her piano playing. It is about seasons layered with seasons. I just moved our keyboard out of the back of the house into the living room. I am hoping it will get used more, and so far that small change has helped. Sometimes simply moving something to a different location in my house can make a surprising difference.

The post also reminded me of what I had written just a day or two before about a field trip to the month of March.

FOU61810 _159312092015_EmilyFreeman_SeasonsLayered

Thank you to the photographer Matt Swaggart who took this photo of my mom and I at the piano, to Emily P Freeman for the blog post, to all the piano teachers and to all the piano players of the world.

“The more I think about the human suffering in our world and my desire to offer a healing response, the more I realize how crucial it is not to allow myself to become paralyzed by feelings of impotence and guilt. More important than ever is to be very faithful to my vocation to do well the few things I am called to do and hold on to the joy and peace they bring me. I must resist the temptation to let the forces of darkness pull me into despair and make me one more of their many victims.”

-Henri Nouwen-

A quote referenced in the book A Million Little Ways by Emily P Freeman

One thought on “Tuesday Inspirations

Leave a Reply

