Unclenched Fists: Share Your Story

IMG_1745-2 IMG_1723-2

What has God been speaking to me about today and as of lately?

Courage

Courage to write and share, or create art and share…..

I was given a written note from my youngest sister-in-law for my Birthday this year. It said she felt like this year was a year of expression for me. I hope that is true. Writing, expression, and art gives me such joy. It sure does take so much courage to share it with the world though.

Today I will be sharing some quotes of others about writing and creating that I read this summer, and a blog I read today.

Be faithful to plant. Release the growing to God. Open up clenched fists and let the seeds drop into the ground, let them burrow down deep and do their secret work in the dark. Sacred happens in the waiting.

Million Little Ways By Emily P. Freeman

With my own stories and creative expressions or thoughts I have often clenched so tightly to them, instead of being free to share them with others and also maybe waiting for the right time. So here’s to learning how to unclench my fists and plant plant seeds of hope through daily expression and stories here on my blog.

The beauty she shared was, quite simply, herself. And in sharing herself she showed me a glimpse of the glory of God.

Million Little Ways By Emily P. Freeman

A Million Little Ways

Another book I read this summer was Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist, during my 5 year anniversary trip with my husband back to our honeymoon spot. My friend Erin recommended it to me. It was perfect timing to read that book. Going back to our honeymoon spot 5 years later was interesting. Five years later we found ourselves so tired from life, Jeff basically working 2 jobs (his job and building a house on the side) and then the after affects of adjusting to being new parents. So I just really related to her bittersweet stories in the book, and was surprised to find at the end of the book a challenge to the reader to write your own stories, and share them. After stumbling upon that theme again and again I was starting to be more encouraged to share…..

When we, any of us who have been transformed by Christ, tell our own stories, we’re telling the story of who God is. pg 238

God’s story was told in hebrew and greek, and I believe that it is also being told in whispers and paintings and blogs and around dinner tables all over the world. pg 239

Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist

bittersweet

Here is the blog I read today about courage:

Why you should care about back to the future

The photos above are from yesterday and today. Leaves collected from the front yard and a morning walk. I enjoyed the coloring!

Leave a Reply

