White and Bright

Well, I thought about making some whimsical posts in October back in this post Bippity Boppety Boo, “dressing up” my blog in sparkle and magic.  I am studying Revelation this  whole school year (sept.-may) So I may be sharing some of what I am processing and learning throughout the way.  A few verses stood out to me this week concerning clothing. I liked these parts of the scripture. So much of what I read was serious warnings about sin, and encouragement to hold strong and persevere in persecution or pressure. Such serious overwhelming thoughts, with eternity at stake. So the little parts added about shining white wardrobe makes my heart swell and feel connected to God. He is beauty, inspiration, and glory too.

“And standing in the middle of the lamp stands was someone like the Son of Man. He was wearing a long robe with a gold sash across his chest. His head and his hair were white like wool, as white as snow. And his eyes were like flames of fire. His feet were polished like bronze refined in a furnace, and his voice thundered like mighty ocean waves. He held seven stars in his right hand, and a sharp two-edged sword came from his mouth. And his face was like the sun in all its brilliance.”

Do you like the idea of Him holding stars in His hands too? I like that….

Revelation 3:5 says “All who are victorious will be clothed in white.”

Revelations 19:8 “She has been given the finest of pure white linen to wear. For fine linen represents the good deeds of God’s holy people.”

I know any good deed I have ever done is only because of God’s grace, spirit, and truth working through me. Maybe the result of seeds of truth planted in love by my parents or grandparents, or their prayers of purpose for me. I don’t deserve to wear white or shine like the stars in the sky.

Daniel 12:3 Those who are wise will shine as bright at the sky, and those who lead many to righteousness will shine like the stars forever.”

But I hold onto the hope that His love transforms me, His spirit transforms me, and I am thankful that He has made me white as snow.

Thinking of the song

“What can wash away my sins, nothing but the blood of Jesus, what can make me whole again, nothing but the blood of Jesus,

Oh, precious is the flow that makes me white as snow, no other fount I know, nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

So this October I pray you remember His perfect love cast out all fear and shame and gives us a new white wardrobe, in which we shine like the stars.

I pray we would continue to let His word and truth wash over us.

FOU61810 _1712 JSH_3105

Twirling in my white wedding dress and a photo I took of a fern in the snow in my front yard.

Leave a Reply

